Girls Skate Network


BIRTHDAY: December 29
HOMETOWN: Sterling, Illinois
RESIDE: Clinton, Iowa

Liz Davis Interview (2010)

Start with a little information about yourself.

I’m a sophomore in college at Ashford University. My major is computer animation. I was born with Sacral Agensis, and Kyphoscoliosis, which basically left me paralized from the waste down. I’ve been this way since I was born, and wouldn’t change it.

How were you introduced to skateboarding?

It all pretty much started with my uncle.

Why did you choose to start skateboarding?

The first experience started on a dare mainly. I was told I couldn’t do it, so I had to prove I could. I went down this hill and decided I had to get a board of my own!

Are you familiar with Og De Souza? Has he or anyone else have an influence on your skating?

I have heard of him. I’ve tried learning from his style, but we skate differently mainly because I can’t get my legs to stay on the board like him. Not a lot of skaters have influenced me except my friends; who helped me figure out new tricks.

Where did you grow up? What did your parents think when you started skateboarding?

I grew up in Sterling, Illinois. My parents know the crazy stuff I tend to try, so it wasn’t too surprising to them, but to this day my mom can’t watch me skateboard on the ramps because it makes her nervous.

What kind of reactions do you get when people see you skating for the first time?

Most just watch in amazement. I’m always nervous when I skate in front of new people, but once they see how I skate I get lots of questions.

Are there any new tricks you’re working on or want to learn?

I’m constantly watching other skaters and watching how they do tricks, wondering if I could pull it off. What I really want to figure out is how to get a grind down.

I like the wheels on your wheelchair, they look like those awesome “Tuff’s” BMX wheels. Is that why you chose them?

Not really actually, haha. I do love the style, they are better then the normal wheels. They snap pretty easy though, I recently got new ones because I snapped the frame.

Do you have any other hobbies?

Drawing on paper and computers.

What is your typical day like?

I wake up and go to class and then work. I spend my evenings hanging out with my friends. My summers are much more exciting.

Describe your perfect day.

I wake up early enough to get to the skatepark before everyone else, when its warm out, but not too hot so the ramps don’t burn my hands. I skate with my friends all day and just hang out. Skating is the best when you are with friends.

Do you have any rituals when you skate?

My skating rituals usually just include me going across town on my electric wheelchair and stopping at this one certain gas station.

Are you active in other sports?

I used to be in a bowling league and wheelchair basketball, I really would enjoy more activities, but I’m focusing on college right now.

Where do you like to skate?

I skate mainly in Sterling, my home town.

Who do you like to skate with?

I have a few close friends I skate with at home. At college just me and John like to skate when we have time.

What kind of music do you listen to?

My favorite bands are Muse and Coldplay, but I’m up for anything that isn’t rap.

What is something most people don’t know about you?

I spent three weeks in Malawi, Africa in 2007.

What do you have planned for this year?

This year I want to make a new skate video when the weather gets warm.

Shout outs and thanks?

My parents, friends and Lisa!