Girls Skate Network

SPOTLIGHT | Kat Williams

BIRTHDAY:March 13, 1989
HOMETOWN: Adelaide, Australia
RESIDE: Adelaide, Australia

Kat Williams Interview (2011)

How were you introduced to skateboarding and what got you started?

Normal kind of story, my brother used to skate and I looked up to him so I always wanted to do it. Then my friend Hanna got a board, so we used to muck around on that until Mt. Barker, where I grew up, got a park. So it just kinda happened.

Do you remember what your first setup was?

Hahaha! $15 dollar board from cheap as cheaps. The bearings didn’t roll and it had a red fast car on it.

Were there any early influences on your skating?

Yeah, my first would have to be homies Greg, Dylan and Don. Then I guess same as everyone, friends I skated with mags and movies.

What is the best and worst thing about your hometown?

Worst thing is probably having to work everyday, so makes me to tired to skate cause I’m a sook. Haha! Best thing is everything.

Besides skateboarding, what do you like to do in your spare time?

Go to the beach, chill with friends, play music and watch movies.

What is your typical day like?

Wake up, get ready for work in 5 minutes, run out the door, scooter to work, hang off buildings all day, go home, have shower, eat food, go on the internet and if its a good day go for a roll.

Where do you like to skate?

Churchill, city park or flagys mostly…but anywhere if there’s good people.

Who do you like to skate with?

Rhi, Godals, Jen, Beau, Lee, Greg, Ben, every person I met in the states, all Adelaide crew and anyone that is having fun really.

What kind of music do you listen to?

Hmmm hard answer, almost everything depending on the mood.

What is something most people don’t know about you?

That I’m really scared of velvet.

So far, what have been some of the highlights of your skateboarding?

Skating in Mount Baker with all the homies when I was younger, and last years America trip for sure.

What do you have planned for this year?

Keep working to pay of my last trips debt, finish of some more courses at uni, then back to the states in July.

Shout outs and thanks?

Rhi, Erin, Alice, Robbie, Liiiiiiiiiisa, and everyone that I’ve met or skated with and had fun with.

Sponsors: and Daily Grind skate shop help me out heaps