Girls Skate Network

SPOTLIGHT | Lottie Borra

BIRTHDAY: January 6, 1994
HOMETOWN: Bergamo, Italy
RESIDE: Auckland, New Zealand

Lottie Borra Interview (2014)  

How were you introduced to skateboarding and what got you started? 

I started as a kid, playing with my cousins at home, building jump ramps and going down hills. One day we went to a skatepark nearby and I had so much fun that from that day I couldn’t stop!

Do you remember what your first setup was? 

I bought my first real setup after a year; I think it was an Element deck and some cheap trucks and wheels.

Were there any early influences on your skating? 

The older boys at the local skatepark always inspired me and my skating, because, when I started, they showed me how many tricks could be done on a skateboard, and also they always gave me advice on tricks. When I discovered skate videos, those opened my mind to the skate world, too!

What is the best and worst thing about your hometown?

The best thing is that I lived in a little village in the hills, so I was immersed in the woods, and all my the mates I could hang out and go skating with. The bad side was that the skateparks are very far away from my home, so I always had to take long bus trips to go skating or, more recently, drive a long way to parks and spots!

Besides skateboarding, what do you like to do in your spare time?

I like nature, so I’m up for mountain walks, gardening, and outdoor activities. Also here in New Zealand, I started surfing, which is awesome!

What is your typical day like?

My typical day isn’t that good: usually, I wake up really early to cycle to work, work for about 8-9 hours, and if I’m not too tired I go to the skatepark and then home. I spend the week waiting for my days off so that I can skate till I drop, or go surfing or do some outdoor stuff!

Where do you like to skate?

I like street spots that may have a mix of obstacles, like rails, ledges, and banks. Obviously, not many of them exist so usually I go to the skatepark where I can skate street stuff or tranny.

Do you like skating contests? Favorite contest?

I used to go to contests in Italy, but I often was the only girl there so I got bored. The best contest I went to was the Girls Skate Jam in St Albans (UK) because the atmosphere was really friendly and not competitive like it can happen at bigger events.

Where has skateboarding allowed you to travel? Which is your favorite?

With skateboarding, I traveled around Italy, but also Barcelona, Berlin, London, Lione. The best place might have been Barcelona because of the massive amount of spots.

If you could travel anywhere in the world where would you go?

Iceland or Antartica! Their wilderness and the raw nature over there is amazing. But, since I’m not really a cold temperature fan, I’d also like to travel across the States and Canada, skating my way through.

What kind of music do you listen to?

I listen to many different types of music. At the moment it’s more rock’n’roll, punk rock and stoner rock music, like Earthless, Dead Kennedys, Shrine and many others.

What is something most people don’t know about you?

Hard to say. Maybe that I never used to wear dresses, but now I wear one every day at work as a waitress and you can see all my skating scars. Hahahah!

So far, what have been some of the highlights of your skateboarding?

When I got sponsored by Etnies Italy and won the Italian skate Championship it was cool. Also getting into the Yeah skateboarding team has been great! But nothing internationally recognized, I try to do my own thing and if people like it it makes me even happier!

What do you have planned for this year?

I just moved to New Zealand, and I’ll study here for the next few years. This year I plan to travel a bit around the country, learn nice surf moves and skate the NZ spots!

Shout outs and thanks?

Thanks to all my friends in Italy who helped and supported my skating; especially Lore and Giulio from Yeah Skateboards, Dean, Andrea, Sergio and all the mates! Checco from my local skate shop in Italy, Bomboclat, who helped me from my first setup. Then my mum, dad, and sister who always support my skateboarding and my life choices! Sponsors: Bomboclat skate shop (in Italy) and YEAH Skateboards!!!!