Girls Skate Network

USA Skateboarding | National Team Announced

USA Skateboarding Olympic National Team Women

Historic Day Reveals 16 Skateboarders Named to First-Ever USA Skateboarding National Team

Vista, Calif. (March 19, 2019) — Together with Toyota and Nike, USA Skateboarding – the U.S. governing body for skateboarding – announced 16 members would join the first-ever skateboarding national team. Men’s and Women’s Skateboard Park and Street events will make their Olympic debut at the Tokyo 2020 Games. The 16 skaters named to the national team qualified based on performance in international level events during the year before their selection. In June of 2018, USA Skateboarding became the 50th National Governing Body (NGB) recognized by the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) and responsible for the selection, training, and fielding of U.S. national teams that compete in the Olympic Games, Pan American Games, and other sanctioned team events.

USA Skateboarding National Team
Front Row (l to r): Wettstein, Zeuner, Baker, Sablone, Soto, Duran, Barratt, Hause
Second Row (l to r): Joslin, Lopez, Huston, Eaton, Wright, Sorgente, Schaar, Rennie

“We couldn’t be more excited to finally take the wraps off the first-ever USA Skateboarding National Team,” said Josh Friedberg, CEO of USA Skateboarding. “We’re honored to have partners like Toyota and Nike that understand the intrinsic value of the sport we love and appreciate all they’ve done to get USA Skateboarding up and running. It’s a historic moment in the history of skateboarding, and we’re looking forward to doing all we can to support these amazing skateboarders on their Road to Tokyo.”

Skateboarders will have the opportunity to qualify for the Olympics based on their three best results in World Skate sanctioned events during the 2019 qualifying season (now through September 15, 2019) combined with their six best results during the 2020 qualifying season (September 16, 2019 – May 31, 2020). The 2020 World Championships will also be a direct qualifier for the games for the top 3 podium spots at each event.

“Toyota is proud to be involved with this historic moment as a proud sponsor of USA Skateboarding and the first-ever National Team announcement,” said Dedra DeLilli, group manager, Olympic and Paralympic Marketing, Toyota Motor North America. “This event marks the official start of a great journey for these incredible skateboarders. We are dedicated to helping the inaugural USA Skateboarding National Team, and look forward to the road ahead with them.”

The skaters named to the 2019 USA Skateboarding National Team include:

Women’s Park
Brighton Zeuner (Encinitas, CA)
Bryce Wettstein (Encinitas, CA)
Jordyn Barratt (Haleiwa, HI)
Nicole Hause (Stillwater, MN)

Women’s Street
Alexis Sablone (Old Saybrook, CT)
Jenn Soto (Jersey City, NJ)
Lacey Baker (Covina, CA)
Mariah Duran (Albuquerque, NM)

Men’s Park
Alex Sorgente (Lake Worth, FL)
Tom Schaar (Malibu, CA)
Tristian Rennie (Rialto, CA)
Zion Wright (Jupiter, FL)

Men’s Street
Chris Joslin (Hawaiian Gardens, CA)
Jagger Eaton (Mesa, AZ)
Louie Lopez (Hawthorne, CA)
Nyjah Huston (Laguna Beach, CA)

For more information on events, qualifying and athletes log on to or follow on social media to stay in the loop for all announcements.