Girls Skate Network

USA Skateboarding | 2020 National Team Announced

First Row (l to r): Stess, Wettstein, Carmona; Second row (l to r): Zeuner, Duran, Santana, Smith, Baker, Brevard, Sablone, Barratt; Third row (l to r): Huston, Eaton, Jordan, Rennie, Schaar, Reynolds, McCoy, Wright, Juneau. Not Pictured (Sorgente and Foy) PHOTO: Chris Ortiz

Vista, Calif. (October 20, 2019) — Together with Toyota and Nike, Inc, USA Skateboarding—the governing body for skateboarding in the United States—announced 22 members would join the 2020 USA Skateboarding National Team. Men’s and Women’s Skateboard Park and Street events will make their Olympic debut at the Tokyo 2020 Games.

“There wasn’t a better way to cap off five national championship events than being able to announce our 2020 national team,” said Josh Friedberg, CEO of USA Skateboarding. “With the support of Toyota, Nike, and the USOPC, we have been able to evolve as an organization to better support the needs of more skateboarders during the second season of qualifying for the Olympics in Tokyo. We’re really excited to be a part of skateboarding’s impact on the Olympic movement and can’t wait to watch our American skateboarders do what they do best in Tokyo next summer!”

The skaters named to the 2020 USA Skateboarding National Team include:

(L to R): Minna Stess, Jordan Santana, Brighton Zeuner, Bryce Wettstein, Arianna Carmona, Jordyn Barratt. PHOTO: Chris Ortiz

Women’s Park

  • Arianna Carmona (Buena Park, CA)
  • Brighton Zeuner (Encinitas, CA) 
  • Bryce Wettstein (Encinitas, CA) 
  • Jordyn Barratt (Haleiwa, HI) 
  • Jordan Santana (Houston, TX) 
  • Minna Stess (Petaluma, CA)

(L to R): Mimi Knoop (Team Manager), Samarria Brevard, Mariah Duran, Alexis Sablone, Alana Smith, Lacey Baker. PHOTO: Chris Ortiz

Women’s Street

  • Alana Smith (Fort Worth, TX) 
  • Alexis Sablone (Old Saybrook, CT) 
  • Lacey Baker (Covina, CA)
  • Mariah Duran (Albuquerque, NM) 
  • Samarria Brevard (Riverside, CA)

(L to R): Heimana Reynolds, Tom Schaar, Cory Juneau, Tristan Rennie, Zion Wright, Mark Waters (Team Manager). Not pictured: Alex Sorgente. PHOTO: Chris Ortiz

Men’s Park

  • Alex Sorgente (Lake Worth, FL) 
  • Cory Juneau (San Diego, CA) 
  • Heimana Reynolds (Honolulu, HI) 
  • Tom Schaar (Malibu, CA)
  • Tristan Rennie (Rialto, CA) 
  • Zion Wright (Jupiter, FL)

(L to R): Nyjah Huston, Maurio McCoy, Dashawn Jordan, Jagger Eaton, Mark Waters (Team Manager). Not pictured: Jamie Foy. PHOTO: Chris Ortiz

Men’s Street

  • Dashawn Jordan (Chandler, AZ)
  • Jagger Eaton (Mesa, AZ)
  • Jamie Foy (Deerfield Beach, CA) 
  • Maurio McCoy (Reading, PA) 
  • Nyjah Huston (Laguna Beach, CA)

Skateboarders will have the opportunity to qualify for the Olympics based on their two best results in World Skate sanctioned events during the 2019 qualifying season (ended September 30, 2019) combined with their five best results during the 2020 qualifying season (October 1, 2019 – May 31, 2020). The 2020 World Championships will also be a direct qualifier for the games for the top three podium spots at each event.