Girls Skate Network

SPOTLIGHT | Hilary Pearce

BIRTHDAY: January 25
HOMETOWN: Melbourne
RESIDE: Melbourne

Hilary Pearce Interview (January 2006)

Where did you grow up and where do you live now?

I grew up and live in Melbourne. Without a doubt one of the best places to live. Props to Vancouver though, home number 2.

How long have you been skating and what got you started?

I guess I got my first board when I was about 7, but I was rocking mongo style until I was about 18 and decided to learn stuff. I was a late bloomer. I got started because all the kids on the block were rolling and I wasn’t allowed a bike.

Do you remember your first skateboard?

Yeah, it was a fluro green plastic banana board, from Santa. My brother snapped my tail off showing me how the neighbor snapped his tail off. Thanks. But then I got a “Radd Rat” wide board from the Reject Shop for my birthday.

Who do you like to skate with and where do you usually skate?

I skate with The Uninvited boys. Those guys are fun, they make skating fun. Messing around, most of them are hungover or baked so its always a laugh. The complete opposite of kids that go film and take it way too seriously. Tim Hillier and I skate every Saturday together and I always love a roll with Sally “Claka” Clarke.

Do you like skating contests?

I used to, the pressure made it interesting. I like going to some contests to see my friends. I’m too old for them now.

What do you like to do when your not skating?

Going to see bands, hang out with friends, study a bit of Spanish. All I want to do is travel, so I work loads to save and do that. Travel, travel, travel. Candyman, Candyman, Candyman.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you?

I’ve always been a big Roxette fan…nananana nanana nananan nananananna she’s got the look. And I’ve always wanted to dress up as Cher and sit on a cannon.

If you weren’t a skateboarder what do you think you would be doing?

If I lived near surf I’d do that, but I’m shite. I used to race kayaks, so maybe I’d be a jock…or a dirty hippy.

Plans for the future?

I leave here in May for China, Canada, U.S, Mexico, and Guatemala for about 6 months. I might try to live in Mexico for a while if I can. A year would be good. I love the Mexi’s. Study Spanish, live on the beach.

Sponsors and thanks?

Tim Hillier, Violet Alvarez, The Ladies of the Boulder, Mummy, Canada family, The Uninvited, The Women’s Prison…and don’t forget the 1 YEAR DIARY!