Girls Skate Network

SPOTLIGHT | Ianire Elorriaga

BIRTHDAY: November 4, 1983
HOMETOWN: Basque Country, Spain
RESIDE: Basque Country, Spain

Ianire Elorriaga Interview (November 2008)

How were you introduced to skateboarding and what got you started?

I started when a new park in my hometown was built. My brother is also a skater so that helped too.

Do you remember what your first setup was?

I think it was a Variflex xps my brother gave me.

Were there any early influences on your skating?

My friends and my brother were the biggest influences on my skating.

What is the best and worst thing about your hometown?

The best thing is that I can skate with my friends and that I have the sea next to my house. The worst thing is the skatepark, it is getting old.

Besides skateboarding, what do you like to do in your spare time?

I like surfing, reading, music…

What is your typical day like?

I wake up and I go surfing in the morning if the waves are good. Then I have two hours of english lessons (from 13.00 to 15.00). After this I go skating. On weekends and holidays I go skate somewhere.

Do you prefer to skate with guys or girls?

I prefer to skate with girls, but unfortunately there are not girls who skate in the place i life. So I always skate with guys and it is fun!

Where do you like to skate?

I normally skate in Mungia or Bilbao.

Who do you like to skate with?

I like skating with my friends.

What kind of music do you listen to?

I like all kind of music: The Killers, Nirvana, The Beatles…

So far, what have been the highlights of your skateboarding career?

1st European Skateboard championship 2003,2004,2006,2007,2008
1st European Open (Rome) 2006
European skater of the year (girls) 2006
3rd Mystic Cup 2005

What do you have planned for this year?

Skate as much as I can, make some contest and continue improving my skating.

Shout outs and thanks?

I would like to thank etnies, Roxy, Alai Skateboards, my family and friends.

Sponsors: Roxy, etnies, Alai Skateboards