Girls Skate Network

SPOTLIGHT | Paulita Costales

BIRTHDAY: January 29
HOMETOWN: Rosario, Argentina
RESIDE: Rosario, Argentina

Paulita Costales Interview (2009)

How were you introduced to skateboarding and what got you started?

I didn’t know anything about skating until I saw the X Games on ESPN. I got excited and bought my own skateboard, then started practicing in my back yard.

Do you remember what your first setup was?

National Deck with Vairo trucks and wheels.

Were there any early influences on your skating?

Elissa Steamer.

What is the best and worst thing about your hometown?

The best of Rosario is the skateparks. Parque España, Parque Norte and obviously the crew that skates with me. Thanks to them I have a great time every day. The worst is the parks are limited and don’t include vert or aren’t as good as many of the professional parks around the world.

Besides skateboarding, what do you like to do in your spare time?

I hang out with my boyfriend Nico, listen to music, cook, clean my house and sometimes I go to the gym. I’m only a skater, I don’t have another occupation.

What is your typical day like?

I get up, go to the supermarket, cook for my dad and I, clean up my house a little bit and then I get online to check out some videos on youtube. After that I skate at Parque Norte and than later I go to Mistica Skate House. There’s a little ramp there, a ping-pong table and lots of good vibrations so I have a good time with my friends. In the afternoon I go back home, have dinner, shower and then go to bed.

Do you prefer to skate with guys or girls?

It’s the same to me. When I’m in my hometown I’m always with guys, but when I travel I love being around girls that love skating like me.

Where do you like to skate?

I like skating in Parque España.

Who do you like to skate with?

I like skating with Nico, Oveja, Marvin, Selassie, Llabe, Vedova, Euge, Mecu and Vir.

What kind of music do you listen to?

You wouldn’t believe it, but I like listening to Psychedelic Trance when I skate most the of time. I also like reggae and rock music.

What is something most people don’t know about you?

I had a twin brother that passed away during our birth. I always wonder what life would be like if he was around.

So far, what have been some of the highlights of your skateboarding?

Being able to improve on a daily basis.

What do you have planned for this year?

I’d like to teach skating, keep traveling and skate everywhere.

Shout outs and thanks?

I’d like to thank my family, for their unconditional support, my sponsors, Marcos, Perrito, Luz, Manteka, Sista and Videoman, without him I wouldn’t have my videos. Also to Sapo, who is the president of Skate Association from my hometown Rosario, my boyfriend Nico and my friends who are always there to make me smile. would like to thank Micaela Ramirez and Poseiden for help with this interview and translation. Also Diego “Videoman” Juan for video and photos.

Sponsors: Crime, Skate Supplies, Converse & Mistica Skate House.