Girls Skate Network

SPOTLIGHT | Jessica Hoefler

BIRTHDAY: April 11, 1987
HOMETOWN: São Paulo, Brazil
RESIDE: São Paulo, Brazil

Jessica Hoefler Rodrigues Interview (February 2012)
Translated by: Ana Paula Negrao

How were you introduced to skateboarding and what got you started?

My brother Kelvin Hoefler got me started. My Dad skated when he was younger and wanted my brother to skate, so he started first. I would go along with my brother to all the contests and skateparks. I wanted to experience skateboarding too, but my parents didn’t want me to skate because they were afraid I would get hurt. I liked it so I kept skating without them to knowing. My dad found out and started to encourage me to skate. That’s how I started skating.

Do you remember what your first setup was?

Yeah I remember. Ha! It was my brother’s first skateboard. A RudeBoy’s board, Tracker trucks, Next wheels and Abec 1 bearings.

Were there any early influences on your skating?

I look up to my brother a lot and love to watch Lacey Baker skating.

What is the best and worst thing about your hometown?

The best thing is my family lives here, the worst is we don’t have a skatepark and people don’t incentive skateboarders.

Besides skateboarding, what do you like to do in your spare time?

I work as an assistant accountant in a office in my city. In my spare time I watch The Simpsons, surf the internet, spend the day with my boyfriend, play with my dogs or watch a movie with my family.

What is your typical day like?

I leave home around 8 am to go to work, I come back at noon for lunch with my family and get off at 5:30 pm. I go home for a little snack, shower and then go to university where I study accounting. I get home around 10:30 pm and I’m ready for bed. On the weekends I spend time with my friends, my boyfriend, family and I go skate.

Where do you like to skate?

I usually skate in the cities near my hometown like Santos or Bertioga. When I don’t have a ride to these cities I skate in a park by my house that’s pretty much an open space and we built some ramps where we can skate.

Do you like skating contests? Favorite contest?

Yes, I do. I love SKATE PARA MENINAS, a contest that’s only for girls from all over our country. It’s good to exchange experiences and to progress with other females skaters. I like Circuito Paulista and Catarinense too.

Where has skateboarding allowed you to travel? Which is your favorite?

I went to São José/SC ( South East of Brazil), Volta Redonda/RJ and the cities in the country side of Sao Paulo… I love these places, I always feel good there.

If you could travel anywhere in the world where would you go?

I would like to go to Los Angeles and somewhere to see and touch snow…..oh and to make a snowman and balls with snow!!

What kind of music do you listen to?

I like to listen to Rock’n Roll, but I like The Strokes and Paramore too.

What is something most people don’t know about you?

I have a diploma in Nutrition and diet. My last name is german and I have a tattoo on my left foot.

So far, what have been some of the highlights of your skateboarding?

I’ve been Brazilian Champion and Vice- Champion of Skate para Meninas em 2009, Vice Champion Paulista in 2010, Placed 4º lugar on Skate para Meninas in 2011. It was the first time I skated an competion with foreigners skaters.

What do you have planned for this year?

I plan to skate more in 2012, last year i didn’t get to skate much because of work and school. I got a promotion at work and had to learn a lot of different things and even in school i didn’t do well because of work. I want to travel more and to have lots of fun in 2012!

Thanks for the interview Lisa and Ana.