Girls Skate Network

SPOTLIGHT | Lois Pendlebury

BIRTHDAY: September 25, 1985
HOMETOWN: Bradford, England
RESIDE: Bradford / Tignes, France

Lois Pendlebury Interview (February 2012)

Do you remember what your first setup was?

I shared my friends board with her until it broke, then we both ordered a set up from an advert in Sidewalk magazine.

Were there any early influences on your skating?

Andy, Rozee, Dougy, H, LBP, Frosty, Bingley mini ramp sessions and street skating in Bradford, C&A Carpark, T&A Banks, Scary Stairs, Bolton Bones and Wednesday nights at Rampworks Liverpool.

What is the best and worst thing about your hometown?

It’s got lots of history and culture and its good for cycling. Nobody lives there anymore.

Besides skateboarding, what do you like to do in your spare time?

Road biking, reading, organising skate contests (LSSUK), boozing, snowboarding, swimming, writing.

What is your typical day like?

If I’m at home I’ll wake up around 8:30 am, drink tea for a few hours and send emails etc, then i’ll do some yoga, swim, cycle or go skate my local park in Bingley – or a combination of these things. Eat lots of food and drink some cider and hang out with the fam in the eve.

Where do you like to skate?

Wherever the session is!

Do you like skating contests? Favorite contest?

If there’s a good vibe contests are fun – good for catching up with pals and making new ones. I’m not into them if they’re too serious and competitive though. Ladies Skateboard Series UK have been hella fun and the UK Champs is always a riot!

Where has skateboarding allowed you to travel? Which is your favorite?

I have been skateboarding all around the UK and in France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Portugal, Ghana, Romania, USA (Colorado, Utah, Idaho, Oregon and Cali). I couldn’t say my favourite – every place had something special about it.

If you could travel anywhere in the world where would you go?

I’m keen for Latin and South America and Asia and more of Africa and Mongolia and Russia… Everywhere in fact!

What kind of music do you listen to?

Funk and Soul, Rock, Metal, Hip Hop, Classical, Dance, Northern Soul and Motown, Reggae, Grunge, DnB, Folk …

What is something most people don’t know about you?

I have a first class degree in African Studies.

So far, what have been some of the highlights of your skateboarding?

Meeting life friends and inspirational people, and travelling and never growing up!

What do you have planned for this year?

Finish the season snowboarding in Tignes, then SF and Mexico, then summer in Europe, I’d like to do another crazy cycle ride like the London to Geneva one I did with the Oakley team.

Shout outs and thanks?

All my friends and family and sponsors – thanks for being there and for being rad.

Sponsors: Roxy, Vans, Oakley