Girls Skate Network

SPOTLIGHT | Lea Schairer

BIRTHDAY: March 19, 1989
HOMETOWN: Heidelberg
RESIDE: Munich, Germany/Biarritz, France

Lea Schairer Interview (2012)

How were you introduced to skateboarding and what got you started?

I have two older brothers who were skating. Since I wanted to do everything they did, I started as well…

Do you remember what your first setup was? Hard to tell. It was an old deck my brothers gave me for Christmas, I think it was a Powell. I got new Destructo Trucks and some random wheels with it.

Were there any early influences on your skating?

Obviously my brothers and just the people we were hanging out with… but I guess in terms of Pros I liked Jamie Thomas, Heath Kirchart, Steve Berra, Arto Saari and Andrew Reynolds a lot. The first few videos I watched were “Misled Youth” by Zero and “The End” by Birdhouse.

What is the best and worst thing about your hometown?

Best thing: it’s just home, it feels comfortable. Everyone knows each other and it’s really beautiful. Worst thing: it’s too small. And in terms of skating there aren’t a lot of opportunities.

Besides skateboarding, what do you like to do in your spare time?

I like to do all kinds of sports, from snowboarding to hiking, surfing and soccer. I definitely like to travel and other than that I like to hang out with friends and going out at night. I also really like to cook when I have time for it.

What is your typical day like?

Right now, it’s working, going surfing/lying on the beach, working again, skating or hanging out and maybe have a beer or five with friends at the end of the day. 

Where do you like to skate? There is no place in particular, but I like to skate a nice curb spot, some tranny and maybe some banks, but most importantly there have to be some friends around.

Do you like skating contests? Favorite contest?

I like going to contests because girls are not as competitive and we usually just have fun. But I don’t really like the pressure and the comparing aspect, of who’s better or worse. Favorite one was the ESC in Basel though.

Where has skateboarding allowed you to travel? Which is your favorite?

Actually it hasn’t taken me that far yet, but at least a few countries in Europe, which is always cool. Unfortunately I had to cancel a planned trip to NY and Montreal this summer, and I’m taking a guess, that this would’ve been my favorite.

If you could travel anywhere in the world where would you go?

I’d probably want to see South America… Argentina, Peru and Chile.

What kind of music do you listen to?

Mostly (Indy) Rock and Electronic Music. But it can be other stuff, depending on my mood.

What is something most people don’t know about you?

A lot of people tend to think I’m tough, but I think I’m actually a quite sensitive person.

So far, what have been some of the highlights of your skateboarding?

I guess getting sponsored and having the opportunities that come with it. I also finished my first video part last year, which felt pretty good.

What do you have planned for this year?

I just tore my ACL and ruined my knee pretty good. So for this year it will be getting healthy again and recovering.

Shout outs and thanks?

The usual: thanks to my parents and brothers, who are always cool! To all my friends at home who go skating with me and the ones who keep me busy when I’m not skating. All my new friends over here who are helping me hold up during my injury. And of course my sponsors: Esel, Phil, Puse and Sebbi! Merci!